Paris vs New York

by rae on January 14, 2013

Screen Shot 2013-01-02 at 4.30.46 PM

these were a birthday gift… I love these boxes of postcards. Last year I got the Pantone ones and this year Paris vs. New York. I will have a lot of fun with these.

A witty homage to both the Big Apple and the City of Lights, this collection of 50 visual comparisons between the two cities will delight anyone who appreciates well-observed illustrations of urban life (in the tradition of Robinson’s New York Line By Line, and Matteo Pericoli’s New York Unfurled).

Based on the blog Paris Versus New York (parisvsnyc.blogspot.com) and an upcoming book (Penguin, Fall ’11), this box of postcards is a love letter to two of the most inspiring cities in the world. In his crisp, minimalist style, artist Vahram Muratyan presents side-by-side comparisons of cultural touchstones such as the Eiffel Tower vs. the Statue of Liberty, a glass of Bordeaux vs. a Cosmo, the Baguette vs. the Bagel, and Jean Luc Godard vs. Woody Allen (represented only by their iconic eye glasses).

(Thanks again Terry!)

This post was written by...

– who has written 1209 posts on Outside the Line.

I draw. Doodle fonts, hand lettered fonts, on the computer, on paper, & in my head where I live most of the time.

Contact the author

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: