Paris vs New York

by rae on January 14, 2013

Screen Shot 2013-01-02 at 4.30.46 PM

these were a birthday gift… I love these boxes of postcards. Last year I got the Pantone ones and this year Paris vs. New York. I will have a lot of fun with these.

A witty homage to both the Big Apple and the City of Lights, this collection of 50 visual comparisons between the two cities will delight anyone who appreciates well-observed illustrations of urban life (in the tradition of Robinson’s New York Line By Line, and Matteo Pericoli’s New York Unfurled).

Based on the blog Paris Versus New York ( and an upcoming book (Penguin, Fall ’11), this box of postcards is a love letter to two of the most inspiring cities in the world. In his crisp, minimalist style, artist Vahram Muratyan presents side-by-side comparisons of cultural touchstones such as the Eiffel Tower vs. the Statue of Liberty, a glass of Bordeaux vs. a Cosmo, the Baguette vs. the Bagel, and Jean Luc Godard vs. Woody Allen (represented only by their iconic eye glasses).

(Thanks again Terry!)

This post was written by...

– who has written 1235 posts on Outside the Line.

I draw. Doodle fonts, hand lettered fonts, on the computer, on paper, & in my head where I live most of the time.

Contact the author

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: